New | Old | Me | Cast | Reads | Other
drugs suck
Friday, Jun. 07, 2002
Marie is The current mood of canadianbabs@yahoo.com at www.imood.com

wow, my third entry in one night... what's come over me?

well, the fact that i've only been properly awake for 8.5 hours could be the culprit, but i'm actually getting quite tired. my eyes are almost starting to hurt already. damn.

so i guess it's time to gripe about drugs. not street drugs, but in general. in western society, they've become a necessity, a godsend, whatever you'd like to say. if you get the flu, a headache, cramp, minor infection, whatever... what do you do? you go to the doctor for a prescription or find something similar over-the-counter. ignorant! people today have become too dependant on drugs to cure every ailment.

i can understand the need for medication for diseases such as aids, hiv, cancers, diabetes, asthma, etc... drugs are needed to control/fight the respective diseases. but to medicate yourself for everyday things is just stupid.

i grew up under western medical practises... if i got sick, my parents took me to the doctor and i was given whatever prescription the doctor gave me. i took syrups and tablets when i got the flu or cold or a headache or whatnot. i was given antibiotics for ear infections and other infections. i don't think my parents were morally wrong for the way they took care of me, i just think they could have found alternative cures.

at around age 16, i was continually sick. i went to numerous doctors, had a crazy amount of different tests done to check for things such as cancer, diabetes, blood disorders, stomach problems, thyroid problems, the list goes on. they never did diagnose me with anything, so i gave up.

when i grew older, i decided to take matters into my own hands and turn my back on western medicine. i opted out from pain killers and symptom-reducers. i avoided antibiotics as much as i could, but didn't know enough about alternatives. actually, i tried talking to my family doctor once about antibiotic alternatives. she told me there was no such thing and anitobiotics were the only option. this is not the case at all and shows how much doctors like to depend on drugs. i'd still love to educate myself about that, and have wanted antibiotics alternative books for a while now, but have always opted for angelina jolie movies, bif naked cd's, baby tees and flared jeans, etc. after all, i AM a young adult.

i also incorporated a healthy diet into my life by cutting out alcohol (which i'm allergic to anyway), meat, caffeine, and sugar.

after being sick with mysterious sicknesses for years, i slowly became healthy. flus and colds and infections flew all about me and i didn't get sick for years afterwards.

i've since gotten back to my old eating ways after being forced to move into university residence and eat cafeteria food. i'm working on improving my diet again. i also had to resort to pain killers a few times over the last year while i was set on keeping my mind on my studies and after getting hit by a car. a lot of changes happened and i became stressed, which welcomed sickness to my body.

hopefully, when i go back to university, i'll be stronger, and less likely to take pills to keep me functioning.

i know none of this made sense, but hopefully you'll realize how dependant everyone is on medicine and that there's a natural alternative to almost everything. it's healthier, cheaper, and better on your body.

i'm going to the hospital tomorrow because i've been feeling like total CRAP for over a week. maybe the doctor will give me a decent diagnosis and i can take it into my own hands from there (and the prescription will go in the garbage).

drugs suck.

I'm wearing: baby tee, stu scrubs, butterfly socks
I'm listening to: dressed to kill *new found glory*
I'm thinking: it's freaking COLD in here, hot chocolate's starting to sound good

Before || After
E-Mail | Book | Notes | Design | Host