New | Old | Me | Cast | Reads | Other
huge rant
2001-07-27
Marie is The current mood of canadianbabs@yahoo.com at www.imood.com

****this is just an entry to vent out my anger against retail, so it's going to be boring, and no you don't have to read it****

oh, how much i hate working at p & j variety. yes, it's not nearly as busy as my old store, and yes, i only fill in there when they can't find someone to work there... but damn, things always mess up on me and i take ages to get out of there. the store closes up at 11:00, and you only get paid until 11:15. in that 15 minutes, you have to get the place cleaned, tidied, stocked, counted, and have all your money business done with. which means counting your float, then counting your deposit, and working out the sheets for it all. fifteen minutes to do all that? excuse me, no one can get it done that fast. even when i had everything done but my float and deposit by 11:00, i still didn't get out until 11:20. but tonight, i didn't get out until 12:30, and man was i pissed by then. see, i don't know much about that store, cause i only worked there one other time, and i don't know where half the stuff is. and then they didn't tell me the codes for the alarm system, or the bank machine... which took me longer to find out cause i had to call around to get them, and then crystal gave me the wrong codes for the banking machine so i couldn't ring it off and work out my sheets. but first of all, i couldn't even shut the damn front door all the way, cause it sticks really bad. ten minutes after closing, i had to call my dad to come and help me close the door. that's how bad it was. i was already pissed off by then, which made the rest of the night worse. i couldn't get my beer counts to work out. after counting them three times, i decided to check the invoice of the beer that came in earlier tonight, and those were wrong. so that problem was solved, but only after much swearing.

i couldn't get my debits, cause i didn't have the right codes... so i couldn't fill out my sheets. so i had to do it all manually, and in the end, i came up 6 bucks short. grr.

my float wasn't co-operating with me cause i kept messing up on my change. i had to count it three times over.

and then, after locking up, i realized that hey, i didn't set the alarm (we don't have one at two of the other stores that i work at). and hey, i remember the right codes to the banking machine. so i get back in, get my debits rung off, go back into the office and work things out. still six bucks short.

i set the alarm, and realize that only tim horton's is open this late. but yes, i'm in the mood for minestrone soup (the only vegetarian soup there). i get there, no minestrone soup. grrr. i'm not that pissed, jen's working and she can cheer anyone up with her smiles. so i get a veggie sandwich. no white bread. grrrr. then no cucumbers. could it get any worse? blah.

that was my night. and lucky me, i have a shift again in the morning. which is actually only seven hours away from right now. and i'm not tired yet. so how the hell am i going to get any sleep? let's just hope they don't force me to work the evening shift too. three shifts straight is just WRONG.

end of rant.

I'm wearing:
I'm listening to:
I'm thinking:

Before || After
E-Mail | Book | Notes | Design | Host